Tempest Smith Day, February 20th

Tempest Smith

Tempest Smith, died February 20, 2001 at the age of 12. A victim of religious bullying

On February 20th, we’ll honor Tempest Kayne Smith. She was a victim of religious bullying in her school. I’ll be incorporating Tempest Smith Day into the Universal Episcopal Church’s liturgical calendar, where she will be honored as a martyr. Yes, that means she’ll be canonized. It also means that those who are victims of bullying, especially religious bullying, might now have a patron.

She played the flute, wrote poetry, and a number of other things which tell me that today approaching her mid-20’s, she would be working to accomplish something. But instead, she was victimized by bullies – who were people who should have been her friends.

2 thoughts on “Tempest Smith Day, February 20th

  1. A beautiful girl gone far too soon, I never knew her but her story has hit me like no other. I see so much of myself in her. only a year apart in age, same beliefs, same bully target but she didn’t die in vain. She gave me the courage to keep going even when I didn’t think I could. I want to make the most out of my life because of her, from the bottom of my heart Tempest…thankyou

  2. Yes, another beautiful person gone too soon. Bullying has got to stop. It has caused too much pain, suffering and death. I have written a song entitled “Different” in honour of all victims of bullying. You can check it out via this link.

Leave a Reply

