Be Careful What You Wish For, I Guess!

Quite a number of years ago, I recall a priest I knew make a remark about what a difference it made when he emotionally felt something that he had intellectually accepted for a long time.  In his case, he was talking about the Resurrection.  Acknowledging it intellectually was one thing, but emotionally is a whole other deal.  And I found myself wishing that I could.

Well, during Easter weekend, I had my turn.  It wasn’t about the Resurrection, but rather about the day known as Holy Saturday.  In many traditions, the altar is stripped and the tabernacle emptied on Good Friday and on Holy Saturday there are no sacraments.  In essence, the church pretty much stops for that day, except for getting ready for Easter Sunday.  Well, I felt the emptiness.  I won’t go into details because it’s my own experience and in these cases you need your own experience.  But I felt the emptiness.

Blessed Be!

Bishop Cal

Leave a Reply

